Start reading.

Everyone has read a book or an article. When you are young you did because your teacher told you. But have you started reading a book since then?

I guess there are a lot of people who have not read a book since they left school. Maybe they did pick up a studybook when they started in their new job because they needed to follow another course. When they had the chance, they will never buy a book. Reading is boring, I’d rather watch television. That is a fair opinion, watching television can be interesting. But I don’t believe that you can find really interesting programs all day long :).

read-books

A couple of months ago I wrote about discovering my old love, reading books. I have read a lot of books when I was younger, mostly adventure books. But as with many people, you get busy and reading becomes like a difficult assignment. You need to make time for it and it seems to take ages to finish the book you’re reading. I think the power is to find the books you really like. For some it can be fantasy, others like to read biographies. I prefer books that tell the story about our lives and work. Books that encourage you to think about your own life and how you are living it. That doesn’t mean I don’t like fantasy books, it’s just a long time since I’ve last read one.

It’s not that I’m reading all day long. I’m still looking for a good balance. I noticed that it’s difficult for me to read in the evening. I’m tired when I get home and it’s easy to get distracted doing something else. That’s why I decided to get up early in the morning at 5:30 AM. I take a shower and start reading while I eat breakfast. Depending on the book that I’m reading, it happens I arrive later at work because my book is so interesting. ”The In-Between: Embracing the Tension Between Now and the Next Big Thing: A Spiritual Memoir” by Jeff Goins is such a book. This is really a quick read that you should definitely check out.

If reading a book takes too much time for your busy schedule, there are a lot of interesting blogs out there. A blogpost is easy to read and only takes a couple of minutes. In fact I call books slow information because it can take quite some time to read them. Blogs are much quicker to read and can also provide great lessons.

Summer is near, a lot of television programs are at the end of their season so now is the time to start reading. Ask your friends what they are reading and if you find a book that attracts you, just buy it. You wont’t regret!

Leave a Reply

