Can you help me to reorganize my photos?

Until last weekend, I was perfectly satisfied with my photo management workflow. But something made me doubt…

Starting with my first MacBook, I started using iPhoto to manage my photos. iPhoto is a very handy tool, especially for people that do not need a lot of bells and whistles. With a minimum amount of time, you can get your photo’s organized the way you want without knowing a lot of computers.

But all of the above also has a side affect. I’m starting to get a lot of events and photos and it’s getting difficult for me to keep a clear view on al my pictures. When moving pictures from one event to another I get frustrated because I have to scroll up and down in my event list to find the event I am looking for. It seems impossible to get a decent list with all my events in iPhoto. This causes me to have duplicate events and looking for photos without finding them.

I don’t want to say iPhoto is bad because I am convinced that without iPhoto I won’t even notice these problems. Without iPhoto, my pictures would be spread all over the place.

So now I’m looking for something else but before moving all my pictures, I want to know what tool will help me to get my pictures organized again. I need to be able to organize them by date and event. Sorting, renaming and quick edit would be nice too.

I want to ask you to let me know in the comments what tool you use and why. If you can add the strong and weak points, that would be nice.

Leave a Reply

