Morning run.

Saturday, I went for a morning run. Just because it sounded like a good idea. A lot of people say it gives you a kickstart of the day so I wanted to give it a chance.

I’m used to run in the evening after work. That is just the easiest thing to do. You come home, eat something and go for it. It’s a good way to forget what happened that day and get some mental rest. The problem is that it’s hard to avoid the temptation of watching TV after dinner. After a long work day there is nothing so easy and welcome as just laying around in the sofa. But is this really what your body wants? Does watching TV give you the mental rest you want? I don’t think so.

I can hear you thinking: ”Wasn’t this blogpost about going for a run in the morning?”. True. But until now, I’ve always been running in the evening since that fits better in my schedule. And to be honest, during soccer season I don’t run that often besides soccer training. Soccerplayers are lazy you know…

Since I’ve injured myself two times this season I was able to run a bit more than usual. Mostly between 6 and 8 in the evening. I liked it but one time I went for a run immediately after arriving home from work. I had a bad day at work and needed something to release the stress and frustration. A 7k run seemed like a good idea but that didn’t go that well. First, it was dark and I needed to wear a fluo jacket which I do not like at all. Since I wanted to survive my run, I had no other choice but to wear it. Second, I went before dinner and got hungry after 3k.I can assure you that running with flat legs is not a great experience. But the worst of all was the traffic. I live in a quiet town with a lot of fields and woods but cars were all over the place. I even had to jump in the field one time to avoid an accident. It seems there are a lot of grumpy drivers on the road in the evening. After all, I survived. The experience was not that great but I managed to think about something else than work. At least that’s something.

So last saturday I left home at 7:55 AM and what an experience it was. I agree, it’s not that early but I can assure you that a lot of people are still sleeping then. It’s a different feeling, running in the morning. executive_morning_routines1The head is still fresh, just as the legs. During your run, it’s real quiet outside and you can see the world waking up. Stores are opening, lights go on and people go get their newspaper. It was cold when I left but by the time I got home, the sun was shining and the temperature was nice. This wakening of the earth really gives you a boost. It let’s you feel energized and gives you that kickstart you’ve always dreamed of.

Since I enjoyed my morning run, I’ll take this even further the coming weeks by going for a run before I leave for work. That means getting up at 5:30 am, leave home at 5:45 and run for an hour. We will see what it brings. If I like it, I’ll have to reschedule my morning ritual a bit towards my ideal morning… Step by step we are getting closer. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

