Why don’t you just pay for it?

I used to avoid paying for everything. Why would I pay for something if I can get it for free? I will only use it from time to time, so why pay for it?

Films, books, music, software… I downloaded them for free from the internet. It was normal to me and everyone did the same. Why would I buy a filmticket for 8 euros if I could watch it for free at home? If I wanted to, I could watch it more than once. I did not listen a lot of music so I did not feel the need to buy albums of my favourite artist. By the time I would listen to it, the album was old news. I had no problem buying expensive hardware, but software was a bit more difficult. Software needed updates, paid updates. I always had difficulties paying for something that will fade away. It’s like throwing money away. Greedy? No, I don’t think so. I think about what I spend and love to get something good in return for my investment.

But times change. Things like the iPhone and its appstore, e-books and streaming services encourage me to reconsider. Books became cheaper and easier to get. Apps changed the way people live their lives. There are a lot of free apps, but I started to notice that spending money on apps that you use every day is a great investment. I listen to podcasts every day and started using the podcast app from Apple. After some time, I decided that I needed something better with some extra options. Manually downloading episodes every day was just a waste of time. So the first app I bought was Downcast. An amazing app that manages the podcast I listen to and downloads them when I am at home. 2,69€ and I am using it for almost two years now. I stopped hesitating, if I find an app that can make a part of my life better, I’ll just buy it.

I see you thinking ”That is easy, it costs peanuts.” and I admit, I still hesitate for higher prices. But a lot of the time I am not downloading them for free. The books I read, I could use from someone else or I paid for them. I still have some software for free but I do not download free music anymore. I use Spotify for that.

Streaming services are hot these times. For a low monthly fee, you can listen or watch to anything you want. Great isn’t it? I love Spotify. I can listen to any music whenever I want. I hesitated when I subscribed for their service. I did not listen a lot of music so why would I need it? Well, that changed after subscribing :).

I can go on like this forever. The last months I’ve bought more things than I’ve ever bought in my whole live. So I have made my choice. When I find something I can use in my daily life, I will buy it.

Will you pay for it?

Some tips.

Ask you friends for tips. What have they bought that may be interesting for you?

Ask for a trial, read reviews. Doing so, you know what you buy.

Stop hesitating and pay for what you need.

Leave a Reply

