Strike back!

Here I am, sitting in my sofa legs up. Resting? Yes, but not voluntary. Sport is healthy they always say, not for me this weekend. While playing soccer I hurt my quadriceps. Diagnosis: 3 months out. 

I love to sport. I play soccer, jog from time to time and when soccer season is over I ride my bike. But this season is not my lucky one. It already started while preparing for first soccer training in July. My knee hurted so I could not run as often as I wanted. Cycling was ok, but that is not the same. By the start of the soccer season, I knew immediately how late it was. I had not the condition I intended to have. So I struggled to keep up with my opponents in the first games and everything hurted. But I had a plan. I started with some easy jogging sessions after every training and game. That way my basic condition went up and my muscles recuperated better. Doing so, I managed to get better and ready for the start of the competition. We won the first game and I played the whole 90 minutes without a problem. So my advice: never give up!

But my luck did not lasted long. In the second game, I hurt my self in a fight for the ball. I managed to finish the game but I had to watch from the side for the next 8 weeks. But ok, there are worse things that can happen. I did whatever I could to prepare my comeback and I enjoyed it. Normally I am not a fan of jogging during winter but I really liked it. It was nice to be moving again.

As I said, it is not my lucky season. We are 2 months later after my comeback and I am laying here, writing a short story about my season. The moment I felt something in my quadriceps I knew it was more or less the same as last time. It appears it’s even worse so my season is over. I am disappointed. Not in myself or my muscles. No, just disappointed I can’t play the last games of the season. Disappointed that I can’t move a lot for some time.

But no worries, there is a lot of other stuff to enjoy. I can watch my teammates play and win some more games. I have some extra time to do some stuff I like but did not have the time to do. Revalidation started yesterday, so I’ve set myself a target. I want to be ready for cycling season by the end of soccer season. By doing so, I will be able to build a good basic condition for coming soccer season.

So what did I learn from all this? Never let bad things strike you down, always strike back and enjoy the opportunities!

Leave a Reply

